Minutes: Special Mtg September 11, 2008

Village of Plain

Special Village Board Meeting of September 11, 2008



A special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Village of Plain was held at the Municipal Building on September 11, 2008.  The following members were present: Raymond Ellenbolt, President; James Liegel; Duane Meise; Robert Neuheisel; and, Merry Lynn Riek, Trustees. Trustees Kevin Kraemer and David Buchanan were absent.


Others present: Jason Jackson of General Engineering; Mary Francis Nachreiner; Eugene Hausner; Joe Prem; and, Nick Ruhland, Public Works Director.


Notice of this meeting, along with the agenda, was posted at the following locations in the Village of Plain: the Municipal Building; the Plain Post Office; and, The Peoples Community Bank on Monday, September 8, 2008 and a revised posting in the a.m. on Wednesday, September 10, 2008. Notice was emailed to the Home News and the Baraboo News Republic on the same dates.


The meeting was called to order by President Ellenbolt at 7:00 p.m.


Jason Jackson of General Engineering presented construction bids for Well House #1. LaMasney Construction was the low bidder coming in at $296,409. Liegel motioned to accept the low bid. Neuheisel seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.


Along with the construction costs, the Water Utility also needs to hire CTW Corporation to install the control system and raise the existing well. This quote was $27,700-$33,200.


The Old Franklin Township Historical Society asked what the Village’s plan is regarding the common wall of the old Franklin Town Hall. Jackson stated that the contractor will repair the wall, tuck point if necessary and paint. Hausner asked about the windows that had pre-existed. It is not the Villages intent to install windows in their building. Minutes will be reviewed to determine if windows were approved for the repair of the old Franklin Town Hall.


President Ellenbolt stated the names for the three citizen member Police Commission to be established and asked for discussion. Liegel motioned to appoint citizens Robert Elmer, Rudolph Feiner and Stephen Price to this Commission. This was seconded by Meise and carried unanimously.


Liegel asked Public Works Director Ruhland if anything was decided on the Municipal Building windows. Beaver Glass and George Alt came to look at the windows, but an estimate was never obtained. Both individuals should be re-contacted for an estimate.


Liegel motioned to adjourn at 7:32 p.m. This was seconded by Riek, and the motion carried unanimously.




Sheila Tafs